Board member

Professor Nico de Rooij

Nico de Rooij is Professor Emeritus of EPFL and previous Vice-President of CSEM SA. He was Professor of Microengineering at EPFL and Head of the Sensors, Actuators and Microsystems Laboratory (SAMLAB) from 2009 to 2016. At CSEM SA he was responsible for the EPFL CSEM coordination from 2012 to 2016. His research activities include the design, micro fabrication and application of miniaturized silicon based sensors, actuators, and microsystems. He authored and coauthored over 400 published journal papers in these areas.

He was Professor at the University of Neuchatel and Head of the Sensors, Actuators and Microsystems Laboratory (SAMLAB) from 1982 to 2008. Since October 1990 till October 1996 and again from October 2002 until June 2008, he has been the director of the Institute of Microtechnology of the University of Neuchatel (IMT UniNE). He lectured at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich (ETHZ), and since 1989, he has been a part-time professor at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne (EPFL). He has been appointed Vice-President of the CSEM SA in February 2008 and headed the newly created Microsystems Technology Division of CSEM SA, from 2008 until 2012. He was Director of EPFL’’s Institute of Microengineering (EPFL STI IMT) from 2009 to 2012, following the transfer of IMT Uni-NE to EPFL.


Dr. de Rooij is a Fellow of the IEEE and Fellow of the Institute of Physics (UK), Corresponding Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences and Individual Member of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences.

He has been serving on the Editorial Boards of the IEEE/ASME Journal of Microelectromechanical Systems (IEEE JMEMS), the IEEE proceedings, the Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering, JM & M,, the Sensors and Actuators ,and Sensors and Materials. He was Member of the Information and Communication technology jury of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards from 2009 to 2012.


He recieved the IEEE Jun-Ichi Nishizawa Gold Medal, the Schlumberger Prize as well as the MNE Fellow Award 2016. He was awarded a Visiting Investigatorship Program (VIP) in MEMS/NEMS Systems by the A*STAR Science and Engineering Council (SERC), Singapore, hosted by SIMTech, for the period 2005-2008.

He received his M.Sc. degree in physical chemistry from the State University of Utrecht, The Netherlands, in 1975, and a Ph.D. degree from Twente University of Technology, The Netherlands, in 1978. From 1978 to 1982, he worked at the Research and Development Department of Cordis Europa N.V., The Netherlands.

Fields of expertise

  • Microsystems Technology;
  • Bio MEMS
  • Lab-on-a-chip
  • Nanotools
  • Optical MEMS
  • Power MEMS